1.8.17- On what the sabbath is actually about and new mercy

Last Sunday was my first sabbath of 2017.  One out of 52- at least that’s my goal!  One purpose of this blog is to track and journal about Sundays; thoughts, experiences, scripture I read, anything.  Here is a timeline of what my first sabbath day looked like:


6:30am- Wake up with the kids, eat breakfast, play

8am- Start getting ready for church

9am- Leave for church, kiddos and I arrive early to prepare the family check-in area of our children’s ministry, serve, attend church

12pm- Home, lunch, play

1:30pm- Naps (everyone. amazing.)

4pm- Leave for a family birthday party

8pm- Home, stop by a birthday party of my sweet friend Jen. (Happy Birthday girl!)

9:30pm- Bedtime


The week prior, I anticipated Sunday: worked hard, did my chores, and prepared for a restful/relaxing day.  By Tuesday of this week I was drained again on all fronts…tired, disillusioned and a grumpy, frustrated mom.  What happened?  I kind of felt like it didn’t work (can I say that? What was I hoping for? What result did I expect?) Or that I had not truly kept the sabbath…maybe it was still to heavily scheduled or not intentional enough?

In looking back and praying over this week, I think my perspective is all wrong.  The sabbath is not about me having a spa day (I wish) or even just a day free from chores, its about God inviting me into His glorious rest, his grace.  It reminds me of my creation and redemption. And this past Sunday, although I planned for no chores, minimal cooking and relaxing time with family and friends, I didn’t plan for God. I neglected to make room in heart, soul or schedule for Him.

And even now as I’m writing this, God is reminding me of the gospel.  Here I am, trying to obey a good commandment from the Lord and I make it about me, I use it to serve myself. And God gently shows the way once again and reminds me I can rest because of his finished work. And he gives more grace.  I’ll wrap up with a favorite verse from Lamentations 3:22-24 because tomorrow is a Sunday morning full of new mercy! Yeah!!

The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases;
    his mercies never come to an end;
they are new every morning;
    great is your faithfulness.
“The Lord is my portion,” says my soul,
    “therefore I will hope in him.”

Leave a Reply

